About Municipality


Lekwa Municipality was established on the 5th of December 2000 after the amalgamation of 3 former Transitional Local Councils namely Standerton, Sakhile and Morgenzon. The Lekwa Municipality lies on large open plains of the Highveld region that is characterized by tall grass and it is transverse by the Vaal River which flows in a western direction. The municipality span over an area of 4 586 km2 which equates to 15% of the overall Gert Sibande District.

The Municipality is named  after the Vaal River which is commonly known as Lekwa (a Sotho name for Vaal River); the demarcation code is MP 305.

Lekwa Local Municipality is one of seven municipalities within the Gert Sibande District Municipality in Mpumalanga Province, it is located in the South West of the Gert Sibande District Municipality with immediate entrances to Kwa-Zulu Natal, Gauteng and Free State provinces Newcastle, Heidelberg and Vrede are respective immediate entrances.

The Municipality consists of Standerton which serves as an urban node, whilst Morgenzon which is 45km North East of Standerton which serves as a satellite node. It is landlocked by the following local municipalities, Pixley ka Seme and Msukaligwa on the east, Dipaliseng on the west and Govan Mbeki on the north. The south edge is abutted by Mpumelelo Local Municipality which is in the northern part of the Free State Province.

The Municipality is predominantly inhabited by Nguni speaking people, namely: Zulu, Siswati, Ndebelc, Sotho and Xhosa and other race groups.


Lekwa Local Municipality (Lekwa) has a population of about 117 833, representing approximately 12% of the Gert Sibande District. It comprises of about 11 communities and approximately 32 241 household.

The area is primarily consisted of urban residential settlements, significant farmland communities and quite significant industrial communities in different areas and town across the municipalities.

The Municipality span over an area of 4 603km2 which equates to 14% of the overall Gert Sibandc District (+/-31 970km2). The average density of the region is 26 persons/lim (the area estimates are calculated using Planet GIS data).
The main areas are concentrated around Standerton,Sakhile, Rooikoppen, Sivukile, Azalea Thu-Thukani and Meyerville. Other areas include Stanfield Hill, Morgenzon and the outlying areas of rural Lekwa.


To be the leading, people centered municipality excelling in the economic growth, development and governance


Transparent and accountable governance, accelerated customer focus, affordable service delivery, creation of a conductive environment for economic development and growth sustainable infrastructural development and maintenance.  Enhance community participation in the affairs of the municipality.  To initiate ground breaking innovations in the way we conduct our business.

Emergency Numbers 


SAPS 017 719 1250

AMBULANCE 017 712 2323

MUNICIPALITY 017 712 9600


BURST WATER PIPE 017 712 5551


KASSELMAN 017 712 1354

© 2017 Lekwa Local Municipality . All Rights Reserved.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.